FIA World Touring Car Championship


Citroën Racing’s first season in the FIA WTCC has been a great success, with the team picking up the Manufacturers’ World Championship and securing a treble in the driver standings with José María López, Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb.


In a Record-Breaking Season for López and Citroën, José María López claimed his tenth win of the season in the final race, Macau, setting a new record for most victories in one season in the process.

In a highly competitive second race, Yvan Muller managed to secure second place. With 17 wins in 23 races, Citroën achieved a clean sweep of honours in 2014, winning the Manufacturers’ title as well as first, second and third places in the Drivers’ standings with López, Muller and Loeb.

Macau 760x450

In 2015, there will once again be three official Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs competing in Citroën Total colours. “We were completely satisfied with our drivers, and they didn’t have any thoughts of going elsewhere, so it was easy to sort out,” explains Yves Matton.

“José María López has had the perfect season this year, thanks to his unwavering commitment. He has blazed a trail for a new generation of drivers, but now he will have to defend his title, and he will be up against some highly motivated rivals, not least his own teammates,” Citroën Racing’s Team Principal continues.

“After achieving his first race wins in the discipline this year, Sébastien Loeb will be looking to do even better next season. Switching from rallying to track racing was a huge challenge to take on, but he has already shown that he has all the qualities necessary to become one of the best drivers in the competition.”

In addition to the official team, two further Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs will be taking part in the championship. They will be operated by Sébastien Loeb Racing, the team set up by the nine-time World Rally Champion. “Since it was created, SLR has amassed real know-how at international circuits, in both GT and sports prototype racing. The FIA WTCC marks a new stage in the team’s development,” explains Seb. “I didn’t have to think for very long when the opportunity presented itself for the 2015 season. Since the new TC1s were introduced, the championship has been attracting more and more interest, and it’s great for Sébastien Loeb Racing to be involved.”

“Entrusting the two private Citroën C-Elysée WTCCs to SLR was an obvious choice,” adds Yves Matton. “The two cars will be good-as-new reconditioned 2014 chassis, complete with all the developments we introduce next season. It’s now up to the team to finalise its agreements as far as its drivers are concerned, but we are all working together to make it possible for Ma Qing Hua to continue his FIA WTCC career with Citroën. His performances have shown that he deserves the chance to race a full season in 2015.”


What is the FIA WTCC?

The World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) is the third world motorsport championship created by the International Automobile Federation (FIA), following Formula 1 and the WRC.

The competition is reserved for two-wheel drive five-door production cars modified for competition and powered by a 1.6 litre turbo and a six-speed sequential gearbox.


The Citroën C-Elysee WTCC

Hugging the track on 18-inch wheels, the C-Elysée WTCC is an impressive sight. Fitted with a drag-reducing blade, the bumper underlines the grille with its distinctive Citroën chevrons. We've extended the wings front and rear and an oversized spoiler at the back keeps the car glued to the track.


The Citroën C-Elysée WTCC benefits from the same direct-injection 1.6 litre turbo power as the DS3 WRC. However a wider boost flange has upped the power to 380bhp, which is transmitted to the front wheels via the six-speed sequential gearbox.

Our WTCC drivers

Sébastien Loeb (FRA)


Born: 26 February 1974 in Haguenau, France
Nine-time World Rally Champion (2004 to 2012)

Yvan Muller (FRA)


Born: 16 August 1969 in Altkirch, France
Ten-time Trophée Andros winner
Four-time WTCC champion (2008, 2010, 2011 and 2013)

José-Maria López (ARG)


Born: 26 April 1983 in Río Tercero, Argentina
WTCC champion 2014

Ma Qing Hua (CN)


Born: 25 December 1987 in Shanghai, China
China Touring Car Championship (CTCC) 1600cc class winner (2011)

2015 Calendar

6 March: Termas de Río Hondo (Argentina)
17 April: Moulay El Hassan (Morocco)
01 May: Hungaroring (Hungary)
15 May: N'ring Nordschleife (Germany)
05 June: Moscow Raceway (Russia)
19 June: Slovakia Ring (Slovakia)
26 June: Paul Ricard (France)
10 July: Vila Real (Portugal)
11 September: TBA (Japan)
25 September: Shanghai (China)
30 October: Buriram (Thailand)
20 November: Losail (Qatar)

Keep up to date with the latest racing news by following @CitroënRacing on twitter.