You will be redirected in Seconds

History of Citroën Racing

Since it was founded in 1919, Citroën has always stood out for its ability to tackle and pull off bold, sporting challenges.

From the first competition through to the Citroën Racing team of today, Citroën teams write a story full of triumphant victories and many sporting successes.

In all competitions combined, Citroën has won 16 manufacturers titles and contributed to 12 driver titles (WRC and WTCC combined). Two important records for the brand are; 98 victories in WRC and 38 consecutive podiums between the rally of Mexico in 2008 and that of Great Britain in 2010.

Citroën experimented with their first rally-raid vehicles with mixed success, before an incredible series of FIA WRC titles between 2003 and 2012. After three successful seasons in WTCC, the team returned to the WRC in 2017 with C3 WRC and look to continue the successes of its previous WRC triumphs.


ZX Rallye Raid (1990-1997)


36 victories from 42 races, including 4 in the Dakar Rally
25 victories for Pierre Lartigue, 10 for Ari Vatanen and 1 for Timo Salonen
5 Manufacturers’ titles in the FIA Cross Country Rally World Cup (1993 to 1997)
5 Drivers’ titles: Pierre Lartigue from 1993 to 1996 and Ari Vatanen in 1997

XSARA WRC (1998-2005)


96 victories, including 11 in Germany, 10 in Argentina, 9 in Spain and 7 in Monte-Carlo
238 podium positions
1484 stage wins
78 victories for Sébastien Loeb, 7 for Sébastien Ogier, 3 for Kris Meeke, 2 for Carlos Sainz and Philippe Bugalski, 1 for Dani Sordo, Mikko Hirvonen, François Duval and Jesus Puras.

C4 WRC (2004-2010)


36 victories for the C4 WRC, 32 for the Xsara WRC, 26 for the DS 3 WRC and 2 for the Xsara Kit-Car

Records: rally wins for a Manufacturer (96) and consecutive podium position finishes (38 from 2008 Rally Mexico to 2010 Wales Rally GB)

8 Manufacturers’ titles in the FIA World Rally Championship (2003 to 2005 and 2008 to 2012)

9 Drivers’ and Co-drivers’ titles for Sébastien Loeb and Daniel Elena (2004 to 2012)

C-ELYSÉE WTCC (2014-2016)


31 pole positions from 35 qualifying sessions
50 victories, 45 fastest race laps and 119 podium finishes in 69 races
28 victories for José María López, 11 for Yvan Muller, 6 for Sébastien Loeb,
2 for Ma Qing Hua and 1 each for Mehdi Bennani and Tom Chilton
3 Manufacturers’ titles in the FIA WTCC (2014 to 2016)
3 Drivers’ titles in the FIA WTCC for José María López (2014 to 2016)